Poem – Der!

Poem – Der!

Written for World Poetry Day – March 21st 2024

Me performing poetry, taken by Andy N.

So Girls are not made of sugar and spice or all things nice

And Boys do not consist of snakes, snails or puppy dog tails

As mum and dad always said to me, but now I have it on good advice

That making such claims in my exams mean I will fail

To get my university degree,

Or I would if I didn’t have a bursary.

College funding could get withdrawn

If my essays continue to be treated with derision and scorn

My graduation is assured and guaranteed

My parents control the money the universities need.   

Despite this my tyrant tutor says I should have taken a look

Through various biology and medical text books

Into some of which I have now taken a bit of a gander

Not only realizing I was fed fake news and propaganda

During my upbringing.

My guts are actually quite complicated

Intestines and colons sound really minging.

I still don’t get how all those bits are integrated and related

But it does sound more realistic than Alsatians

Chasing snails round under my skin.

Lungs seem better than panting dalmatians

How much other crap has my head taken in?

I can’t believe I thought women were literally sugar.

Why did they never dissolve in the rain? 

Was I always such a stupid little bugger

How much other nonsense is there in my brain?

Next I’ll find out the Earth’s not flat

And that I shouldn’t be wearing a MAGA-Hat.

If others have swallowed similar crap without question

We need it campaigning on in the coming election.

Weighing up the candidates expected to be selected

I’m voting Trump again – he’ll put this right when he gets re-elected. 

I don’t know much but I do know that.

See, I’m not that much of a stupid twat!

Arthur Chappell

Leave a comment