Poem – Worse Than Boring 

Me performing poetry – Taken from the audience

Why am I always a magnet for the boring buggers?

It’s bad enough running into bullies and muggers

But I get stuck in the corner with the most tedious pricks on the planet 

What have I done to deserve this, God Dammit! 

Look at this photo of a pigeon on my window sill 

He looks so pretty, and he’s standing really still, 

Now look at this second shot. No, it’s not the same as the last one – Look again 

He’s moved a few millimeters along, you can tell from his shadow on the gutter-drain 

Now in shot three he’s inched on a little bit more

I didn’t quite believe it first but now I’m quite sure 

Photo five confirms it, he’s walking the ledge. Walking the ledge!  

Even though he’s got wings, and can easily fly off the edge 

Any time he wants and look what happens when he reaches the end 

He turns round, even though there’s barely room to bend 

To start walking back towards me and my lens.

Sadly at that point he got spooked and flew off, chased by some wrens

So I took shots of my carpet and a few selfies as well….. 

LIstening to this crap, I think I’m in Hell

I’m too too polite to get angry and yell

Get a life, you sad boring bastard 

It’s not a skill I ever mastered 

And the bore is not intentionally mean

Just a lonely sod who hasn’t yet seen 

How uninteresting he can be prattling on all night 

But I can still tolerate him more than the outright gobshite 

Who always seems to home in on me 

With his crass opinions and pompous ideology

The boring bird man was an irritating but well meaning twit  

But the latest threat is an apex-predator bursting with bull shit, 

Prattling loud and fast, not letting others get a word in 

Through a Narcissist monologue that really gets under my skin

I’d listen to the bore and his birds all night before 

Someone in love with the sound of his own voice 

Convinced that nobody should have any choice

But to be subjected to his superior intellect 

Looking down on distracted dissenters like insignificant insects 

The boring bastard becomes a saving grace 

When you’ve had some twat ranting right in your face 

With zero regard for your boundaries and space 

And you wonder why he keeps getting re-invited

By friends who seem incredibly short-sighted

Failing to see what you see or hear what you hear.

The only solution is to quietly disappear 

Ignoring the invites and going nowhere near

The environment where empathy free Narcissists rule

The boring sod is just a harmless well meaning fool

He wouldn’t ever put me off going out

But if some egomaniac is likely to be hanging about 

I will find somewhere else for me to be 

On the night you throw your next party.

Arthur Chappell

Leave a comment